Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Behind the Streams, Ep 30: "Teaspoons"

Let's explore the concept of a soul drawer (and the joy of leaving it open).

If you didn’t read this week’s post “The Teaspoon Drawer of the Soul” I will read it to you now, in dramatic and enthusiastic fashion, below. 👇

Reading commences as soon as you hit play. Enjoy!

0:00
-11:48

Notes from the Captain

A hearty hale to my audacious and rambunctious crew 👋

What a week. What a ride. Here, take a teaspoon.

Is there a spoon or is there not a spoon? Are we living in The Matrix? Should we be attempting to bend spoons, Uri Geller-style? Does he still do that? Is that still his schtick?

It is me wot is bending?

I don’t know.

What I do know is that I can find inspiration in anything, including a twenty-year-old research paper about the loss of teaspoons in a workplace environment (which I’ve linked below), and you are the unwilling beneficiaries of my rabbit-holing.

Metaphors.

Riddles.

This is what you deal in with quality Noodleations from thenoodleator.

What are you noodleating1 on at the moment? I hope it’s going well and that even if there are parts of it that are frustrating to you, you are sticking with it.

Ideas are everywhere waiting to be caught. Ideas are classless—meaning there are none reserved for rich people or some secret part of society. Anyone can catch one. They float about looking for homes, even if only temporary ones.

Ideas need custodians.

I think you should be one of those people.

Your Captain, Janeen 🫡

Leave a comment


Thangs from this episode…

👩‍✈️ The Teaspoon Study

I love it when scientists direct their sharp minds, giant intellects, and solid scientific methodology to the big issues so as to answer the biggest of questions.

Like “Where do all the teaspoons go?”

Link to the summary of the research paper

PDF of the actual paper.


👩‍✈️ Some teaspoons to keep in your drawer

And at one point I was going to talk about “The Helpers” but didn’t get around to it. What do you do with the mad that you feel?


👩‍✈️ There is no spoon

Bend, dammit!


👩‍✈️ Yuri Geller on a bender


👩‍✈️ The cultural exchange

Here’s one good song from Australia, and one very bad song.

👍 Men at Work’s classic anthem

👎 This atrocity from Jacko.

I didn’t have to google a song about being an individual to use in my video this week. This one has been burnt into my brain since I was a teenager. It is a cautionary tale of what happens when you allow an Australian Rules Footballer to make music. Jacko. What a boofhead2.


Thanks for listening/watching and sharing. If I missed anything you were curious about from the post—or just in general—feel free to leave a comment for the Captain.

Do. Make. Be.

Call and response.

🫡

Leave a comment


Shameless Podcast Plug

Listen to audio versions of early issues of The Stream on my podcast, Field of Streams, available on 👉 all major podcasting platforms 👈

Here’s Apple

The Stream is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

1

It’s not that I’m inventing a word about what I do, but I totally am. I noodle on things, and while I noodle on them, I am ruminating. Add it to your lexicon!

2

Your Australian slang word of the day is: boofhead

0 Comments
The Stream
The Stream
Authors
Janeen McCrae