Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Behind the Streams, Ep 28: "Grandma's Hands"

Some additional thoughts on the passing of a sweet lady.

If you didn’t read this week’s post “Grandma’s Hands” I will read it to you now, below, in a dramatic and enthusiastic fashion. 👇

Reading commences as soon as you hit play. Enjoy! 🫡

0:00
-10:46

Notes from the Captain

I wasn’t going to make a video this week. It seemed a bit dark to say the “inspiration” for the post on Monday was my Grandma dying.

That and I wasn’t sure I had anything more to add to the post. But then I started thinking.

The inspiration is not that she died—it’s that she lived. I mean, she really LIVED.

She was resilient.

She was a giant.

A survivor.

She was also a human who walked this earth and whose passing should be given as much fanfare for as long as the life she lived.

We must honor and remember those we love in the moments of their passing.

And this is the moment.

But…. A video? Talking about my grandma?

Hmm.

I didn’t know how to start it, and so in the end, I just sat down, turned on the camera, sat for a bit, and then started talking.

A lot of waffle poured out. That’s OK. I have final cut approval and you’ll be happy to know I cut a lot of that out.

During the edit yesterday, I started digging around in some old voice files and found a bunch of recordings I’d made while sitting with her in 2020. With my Grandma. In the yard.

Imagine my surprise when I realized she was talking about things I’d been talking about in my stupid video. I hesitated to add her voice to this, but then I asked my Dad and he said it was OK.

So I did.

I hope her voice makes you smile.

It made me both sad and joyful.

I’m still not entirely sure that I should’ve attempted the video, but I’ll let it stand as a memorial, a eulogy, a remembrance of a wonderful woman. And you are most welcome to watch or not watch.

After the funeral service, she will be buried next week in the Bendemeer cemetery next to my Grandfather and near my mother, the other Margaret McCrae.

We will resume regular frivolity next week, but for now, may my Grandma rest in eternal and loving peace.

There are no related links this week. I will not be offended if you skip this video entirely.

Your Captain, Janeen 🫡

Leave a comment


Shameless Podcast Plug

Listen to audio versions of early issues of The Stream on my podcast, Field of Streams, available on 👉 all major podcasting platforms 👈

Here’s Apple

The Stream is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
The Stream
The Stream
Authors
Janeen McCrae