Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Behind the Streams: Failure to Feel

Do some people just not feel art? Let's discuss.

If you didn’t read this week’s post “Failure to Feel” I will read it to you, dramatically and enthusiastically, below. 👇

0:00
-11:39

Notes from the Captain

Thangs mentioned in this week’s video

Famous art horses
Whistlejacket National Gallery video (25 minutes)
Cy Twombly pencil work (although I can’t find the one that made me mad)
Van Gogh’s “The Starry Night
McSweeney’s Internet Tendency

Did you spot the error in the video?

As a huge Cormac McCarthy fan, this is embarrassing. Personally. For me. I had a brain fart in the video and accidentally said, “The Rider” instead of “The Road”. Fortunately, both are great books. Very different subject matters, but great! I’ll update the video at some point with a caption or overdub that corrects it, but since it took 4 hours to upload the file to substack, for today, it is what it is. I hope it’s not too jarring.

New Perk Alert!

To tie the video with Monday’s issue of The Stream, Behind the Streams will now include an audio recording of the main feature from it (embed👆). It’s for those folks who maybe haven’t read it yet, or would just like to… listen. And, well, it just makes sense to do that in this post.

This audio reading by me, your Captain, is a new bonus for paid subscribers only. That’s how much I love you.

Previous posts in this call-to-business/customer service structure

The Stream
"Hello, I would like to purchase a high horse"
[DIAL TONE. SOUND OF NUMBERS BEING PRESSED, FOLLOWED BY PHONE RINGING] “Hello?” “Oh, yes, hello. Hi. I’m calling about the high horse advertised in today’s Rage Rag classifieds. Is it still available?” “Which high horse? The piebald or the bay?” “Er… Whichever one is higher. What can you tell me about it…
Read more
The Stream
Firework
[DIAL TONE. SOUND OF NUMBERS BEING PRESSED, FOLLOWED BY PHONE RINGING. PICKS UP.] “BOOM! Y’ello, you’ve reached the Magical Emporium of Fizz Hiss Boom Bang. How may I blow your mind today?” “Oh, yes, hello. I received your flyer and I was wondering if you could tell me a little about these…
Read more
The Stream
Brave
Hello, you have reached the returns department at Get a Life®. Please enter your order number using the keypad followed by the pound sign so that one of our Life Support Champions may serve you better with your Life Package return. You are currently number 5 in the Life queue. This call may be monitored for quality assurance reasons…
Read more

Thangs I forgot to mention in the video

What’s a Kootenay candle?
Here is some Twombly I did like from a different day and a different gallery in a different country. This is called Quattro Stagioni (Four Seasons) and I saw it at the Tate.

Future housekeeping ‘to look intos’

There is a subscriber-only chat feature which may be a great way for you to suggest things for me to talk about, or share thoughts on posts or… whatever. I need to look into how that works, and threads.

I obviously still haven’t worked out the lighting for the video, and how to do color correction. I have a call set up with a friend of mine who’s gonna talk me through it, so hopefully over time, the look will improve. (The editing will always be rough and all over the place because it matches my style so I’m sticking to it.)

The audio reading is hilarious to me. I did it in one take and that’s about as much time as I want to spend on them, but listening back… I was pretty critical of the read: “I should have hit this line in this way! That’s not right at all!” etc. etc. I’ll get better, and do a better audio mix. Everything’s so rude and crude, sound-wise.

Did you know there’s a Substack App? You might prefer the reading/viewing experience of The Stream through that.

Read The Stream in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

That’s all for now. Send me your questions and comments!

Love what you love!

Your Captain, Janeen

Leave a comment

0 Comments
The Stream
The Stream
Authors
Janeen McCrae